Details for 3 MIPS Performance Categories – MACRA Monday

Posted on September 19, 2016 I Written By

John Lynn is the Founder of the blog network which currently consists of 10 blogs containing over 8000 articles with John having written over 4000 of the articles himself. These EMR and Healthcare IT related articles have been viewed over 16 million times. John also manages Healthcare IT Central and Healthcare IT Today, the leading career Health IT job board and blog. John is co-founder of and John is highly involved in social media, and in addition to his blogs can also be found on Twitter: @techguy and @ehrandhit and LinkedIn.

This post is part of the MACRA Monday series of blog posts where we dive into the details of the MACRA Quality Payment Program.

Last week we got a bit side tracked on MACRA Monday as we covered the news about modifications to the MACRA timeline. That seems to be a welcome change. As we mentioned at the end of our post on the MIPS performance categories and MIPS composite score, now we’re going to start diving into the details of those performance categories starting with: Quality Performance, Resource Use (Cost), and the new Clinical Practice Improvement Activities Category.

Quality Performance Category
This category is a replacement for PQRS, but is a reduction from 9 to only 6 measures. Plus, there is no longer a domain requirement. MIPS also expands the program to include close to 300 measures. To combat this explosion of options, they’ll also be offering specialty specific measure sets so that each specialty can more easily identify the measures that might be best for their specialty.

The Quality Performance category makes up 50% of the MIPS composite score.

Resource Use (Cost) Category
The resource use category is also often called the cost category and is a replacement of the value based modifier. The great part of the resource use category is that there is no data submission required to report your work in this category. Instead, this MIPS category will be calculated based on your Medicare claims. MACRA will add 40+ episodic specific measures so providers have more options to participate in this category.

The Resource Use (Cost) category makes up 10% of the MIPS composite score.

Clinical Practice Improvement Activities Category
The CPIA (Clinical Practice Improvement Activies) category that is the new category created as part of MACRA. It will include 90+ activities to choose from and you must participate in a minimum of one activity. Small practices (ie. 15 or fewer professionals) can participate in 2 activities and receive full credit for CPIA. Practices participating as a Patient Centered Medical Home (PCMH) also receive full credit for this category. Participation in an APM gives you 50% credit.

The Clinical Practice Improvement Activities category makes up 15% of the MIPS Composite Score.

That’s the general overview for these three MIPS performance categories. We’ll cover the Advancing Care Information category next week since it’s a bit more complicated.

Be sure to check out all of our MACRA Monday blog posts where we dive into the details of the MACRA Quality Payment Program.